\

Recipes Modern & Historic

Chocolate Mousse

Serving Size: Eight 6 oz. (180 ml) servings

INGREDIENTS

2 cups (500 ml) heavy cream (chill one cup for whipping)
4 large egg yolks
4 Tbsp. (60 ml) sugar, plus one teaspoon (5 ml)
1/8 Tsp. (pinch) salt
1/4 Tsp. (1 ml) nutmeg, grated
1 Tsp. (5 ml) vanilla
227 g HERITAGE™ Chocolate Block, chopped

DIRECTIONS

Melt chocolate in a metal bowl set over a pan of simmering water (or in a glass bowl in a microwave at 50 percent power 3 to 5 minutes), stirring frequently. Heat 1 cup (250 ml) cream in a 1-quart (1 L) heavy saucepan until small bubbles form along the rim of the saucepan. Whisk together yolks, sugar, and salt in a metal bowl until combined well. Add one fourth cup (60 ml) hot cream in a slow stream, whisking to incorporate, and then add remaining hot cream.

Transfer mixture back to the saucepan and cook over moderately low heat, stirring constantly, until mixture coats the back of a spoon [when drawing a finger across the spoon you can see a line]. Do not let boil. Remove from heat and add vanilla and nutmeg. Whisk custard into chocolate until smooth. Cool to room temperature. Beat remaining 1 cup (250 ml) cream and one teaspoon (5 ml) sugar in a bowl with an electric mixer until it just holds stiff peaks.

Fold one fourth of cream (60 ml) into chocolate custard to lighten, then fold in remaining cream gently but thoroughly. Spoon mousse into eight 6 oz. (180 ml) dessert glasses and chill, covered, at least 6 hours or overnight. Garnish with berries, if desired.

Mousse au chocolat

Recettes

Mousse au chocolat

Rendement : 8 portions de 6 oz (180 mL)

INGRÉDIENTS

2 tasses (500 mL) crème fraîche épaisse (en réfrigérer 1 tasse [250 mL] pour la fouetter)
4 gros jaunes d'œufs
4 c. à table (60 mL) sucre, plus 1 c. à thé (5 mL)
1/8 c. à thé (pincée) sel
1/4 c. à thé (1 mL) muscade moulue
1 c. à thé (5 mL) vanille
1 bloc de chocolat HERITAGEMC de 227 g, haché

DIRECTIVES

Faire fondre le chocolat dans un bol en métal posé sur une casserole d'eau à faible ébullition (ou dans un bol en verre au four à micro-ondes, à intensité moyenne, de
3 à 5 minutes), en remuant fréquemment. Chauffer 1 tasse (250 mL) de crème dans une casserole de 1 pinte (1 L) à fond épais jusqu'à ce que de petites bulles se forment autour de la casserole. À l'aide d'un fouet, battre les jaunes d'œufs avec le sucre et le sel dans un bol en métal jusqu'à homogénéité. Incorporer 1/4 tasse (60 mL) de crème chaude en un mince filet, en remuant au fouet, puis ajouter le reste de la crème chaude.

Remettre la préparation dans la casserole et chauffer à feu moyen-doux, en remuant constamment, jusqu'à ce que la préparation nappe le dos d'une cuillère (c'est-à-dire que si vous passez votre doigt sur la cuillère, vous verrez une ligne). Ne pas faire bouillir. Retirer du feu et ajouter la vanille et la muscade. À l'aide d'un fouet, incorporer le mélange de crème au chocolat et remuer jusqu'à homogénéité. Laisser refroidir à la température ambiante. Battre le reste de la crème (1 tasse [250 mL]) avec 1 c. à thé (5 mL) de sucre dans un bol à l'aide d'un batteur électrique jusqu'à ce que la crème forme des pics fermes.

Incorporer 1/4 tasse (60 mL) de crème fouettée à la préparation au chocolat pour l'alléger, puis incorporer le reste de la crème délicatement, en remuant jusqu'à homogénéité. À l'aide d'une cuillère, répartir la mousse dans 8 verres à dessert de 6 oz (180 mL), couvrir et réfrigérer au moins 6 heures ou toute la nuit. Garnir de petits fruits, si désiré.